Catching up

Tue 2 Mar 2021 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

We’ve shipped out the boxes and boxes of pre-orders for Isabel Yap’s Never Have I Ever and now it looks like stock of the book is making its way through the system: you can now get copies on Bookshop.org. If you want to wait and get a signed bookplate with one, Isabel will be doing an online event at Book Moon next month — we have all our titles at Book Moon, no matter what the website says. The inventory on the site is tied to our distributor. I’m working to change that later this spring.

In the meantime, Lit Hub has just posted a new essay by Isabel:

MFA vs. MBA? Finding Unlikely Literary Inspiration at Harvard Business School
Isabel Yap on Learning the Art of Storytelling Where She Least Expected It



Shipping updates

Wed 24 Feb 2021 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

Never Have I Ever cover - click to view full sizeAnd while I’m posting meh news, here’s more: while we’ve been able to ship some books to the lovely readers who pre-ordered Isabel Yap’s sparkling debut collection Never Have I Ever, we’re waiting on a storm-delayed delivery from our printer before we can ship the rest. We’re sending out a free book — mostly returns from our distributor so occasionally they’re shelf worn and sometimes they’re like new — with each pre-order. We expect to complete shipping preorders on Friday or Monday, depending on the delivery. I’m happy to refund any readers who’d prefer that (email me at info at smallbeerpress).

In the meantime, you can read a story here, follow Isabel on twitter, and read this not-t0-be-missed new interview by Megan Kakimoto posted today at Full Stop.



April to August

Wed 24 Feb 2021 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

Slipping a note in here that we are moving Zen Cho’s collection Spirits Abroad from April to August to better fit our printer’s schedules. In better news the book received a glowing review from Publishers Weekly:

“Powerful but subtle magic woven into the fabric of intricate worlds make Cho a sure favorite for readers of Kelly Link and Carmen Maria Machado.”

 



Holiday Deadlines 2020

Mon 23 Nov 2020 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

Time for our annual posting of the USPS Holiday Shipping Deadlines.

First: LCRW subscription prices will be rising on January 1, 2021.

Second: the Small Beer office will be closed from December 23 – January 4, 2021. It is unlikely we will ship over that period. Need books? We can still help:

  1. Weightless Books is always here for you with DRM-free multi-format ebooks — which can hadily be sent as gifts on the date you specify.
  2. Want more ebooks? We can help you with that.
  3. Audiobooks: we have them.
  4. Bookshop can ship books and toys to you or direct to your family and friends. We’re always adding book recs there.
  5. Book Moon will be open.

So here are the last (domestic) order dates for Small Beer Press. (International shipping deadlines.) Along with a reminder that orders include free first class (LCRW) or media mail (books) shipping in the USA.

And the annual reminder:

Media Mail parcels are the last ones to go on trucks. If the truck is full, Media Mail does not go out until the next truck. And if that one’s full, too . . . it could be very late in December before there’s space. So, if you’d like to guarantee pre-holiday arrival, please add Priority Mail:

Domestic Mail Class/Product Deadline
 Media Mail (estimate, not guaranteed) Dec. 12
 First Class Mail (LCRW/chapbooks) Dec. 18
 Priority Mail Dec. 19
 Priority Mail Express Dec. 23

What are we talking about? Ordering books. (And we always have a few of these around.)



Holiday Deadlines 2019

Wed 4 Dec 2019 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

Shipping times have slowed down over the last few days due to big storms everywhere — shout out to all those shoveling snow! So here are the USPS Holiday Shipping Deadlines.

The Small Beer office will be closed from December 23 – January 2, 2019. It is unlikely we will ship over that period. Weightless Books is there for you: 24/7/365. (And Book Moon will be open . . . !)

Here are the last (domestic) order dates for Small Beer Press. Dates for international shipping are also here.

All orders include free first class (LCRW) or media mail (books) shipping in the USA.

But this is your annual reminder that Media Mail parcels are the last ones to go on trucks. If the truck is full, Media Mail does not go out until the next truck. And if that one’s full, too . . . it could be very late in December before there’s space. So, if you’d like to guarantee pre-holiday arrival, please add Priority Mail:

Domestic Mail Class/Product Deadline
 Media Mail (estimate, not guaranteed) Dec. 14
 First Class Mail (LCRW/chapbooks) Dec. 20
 Priority Mail Dec. 21
 Priority Mail Express Dec. 23

Order a book today!

Just like to read a book, don’t care about a ding or two?



2016 Holiday Shipping

Wed 16 Nov 2016 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , , , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

Updated from last year, here it is again:

This is our annual post about holiday mail dates: like the zombies, they’ll be here slightly faster than expected. As usual, our office will be closed over the holidays, this year that’s from December 24 – January 3, 2016. It is unlikely we will ship over that period. (Weightless is always open.)

Order now, order often!

Here are the last order dates for Small Beer Press — which, in case you’re thinking about waiting until the last minute to order some chocolate Christmas trees are about the same as every other biz in the USA. Dates for international shipping are here.

All orders include free first class (LCRW) or media mail (books) shipping in the USA.

But: Media Mail parcels are the last to go on trucks. If the truck is full, Media Mail does not go out until the next truck. And if that one’s full, too, . . . you get the idea. So, if you’d like to guarantee pre-holiday arrival, please add Priority Mail:

Domestic Mail Class/Product Cut Off Date
First Class Mail Dec-20
Priority Mail Dec-21
Priority Mail Express Dec-23

Order now, order often!

Just like to read a book, don’t care about a ding or two?



2015 Holiday Shipping

Mon 9 Nov 2015 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

This is our annual post about holiday mail dates: like the zombies, they’ll be here slightly faster than expected. As usual, our office will be closed over the holidays, this year that’s from December 24 – January 3, 2016. It is unlikely we will ship over that period. (Weightless is always open.)

Order now, order often!

Here are the last order dates for Small Beer Press — which, in case you’re thinking about waiting until the last minute to order some chocolate Christmas trees are about the same as every other biz in the USA. Dates for international shipping are here.

All orders include free first class (LCRW) or media mail (books) shipping in the USA.

But: Media Mail parcels are the last to go on trucks. If the truck is full, Media Mail does not go out until the next truck. And if that one’s full, too, . . . you get the idea. So, if you’d like to guarantee pre-holiday arrival, please add Priority Mail:

Domestic Mail Class/Product Cut Off Date
First Class Mail Dec-20
Priority Mail Dec-20
Priority Mail Express Dec-23

Order now, order often!

 

 



2014 Holiday Shipping

Mon 1 Dec 2014 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

Here’s our quick annual note that holiday mail dates are coming up fast. Also, our office will be closed from December 24 – January 1, 2015 and, based on previous years, it is unlikely we will ship over that period. (Of course, Weightless is always open.)

Here are the 2014 last order dates for Small Beer Press — which are almost the same as every other biz else in the USA. Dates for international shipping are here.

We ship all books media mail for free in the USA. But: Media Mail parcels are the last to go on trucks. If the truck is full, Media Mail does not go out until the next truck. And if that one’s full, too, . . . you get the idea. So, if you’d like to guarantee pre-holiday arrival, please add on Priority Mail.

Domestic Mail Class/Product Cut Off Date
First Class Mail Dec-20
Priority Mail Dec-20
Priority Mail Express Dec-23

The First Class and Priority Mail International Shipping deadlines are . . . tomorrow! Eek. We can still ship your books if you order today!



Typoes (sic)

Mon 19 Mar 2012 - Filed under: Not a Journal., , , | Leave a Comment| Posted by: Gavin

The Serial Garden cover - click to view full sizeWe’d always rather hear about typos in our books rather than just have readers suffer in silence. Please do email us at info @ smallbeerpress . com if you come across any. It’s always an email that makes me wince, but it’s great to be able to fix future editions.

One happy example: in the next couple of weeks we’ll be publishing the paperback edition of our first Big Mouth House title, Joan Aiken’s The Serial Garden: The Complete Armitage Family Stories, and thanks to Jed Hartman and some few others this edition will have a few less typos. But, again, should you find any typpos (sic . . .), please do tell, thank you!